Workflow Security and Workflow Scope Overview

Workflow Related Security Roles – Customisation Tab
 
  • Minimum User security rights to run workflows
    • To Execute workflows the user must have the mininum setting of "Execute Workflow Job"
    • No other rights are required
  • To see the workflow view
    • To see the workflow associated view within entities the user must have at mininum User read access to "System Jobs"
  • To create or run On demand workflows
    • To run ondemand workflows the user must have at mininum user read access to "Workflow"
    • To create workflows the user must have at mininum user read, write and create to "Workflow"

Then by expanding the visibility of system jobs and workflows will enable the user to view more records via system jobs and to be able to create workflows across the organisation

Workflow Scope

The workflow scope within a workflow record defines who can access the workflow and depending on the trigger the associated security role that is required:

  • If the trigger point for the workflow is anything but OnDemand then the workflow scope determines when the workflow will run based on the current user position within the business unit hierarchy
    • If it is set to Organisation then the workflow will be run for all users that can execute workflows when the trigger is met
    • If it is set to a business unit scope then it will run if the user is within the business unit of the user who owns the workflow
    • If it is set to user then only the owner of the workflow will trigger the workflow
  • If the trigger point is OnDemand then the workflow scope is directly related to the current users workflow read rights on their security record.
    • If it is set to Organisation then the workflow will be selectable via run workflow for all users that have organisation read access to workflow
    • If it is set to business unit scope then it will be selectable via run workflow if the user is within the business unit of the user who owns the workflow
    • If it is set to user then only the owner of the workflow will be able to run via the run workflow option

Hope this clears up the workflow visibility settings!

 
 
Advertisements

One Response

  1. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further write ups thanks once
    again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s